IPL 2020 winners review

India’s Mumbai Indians pulled off the impossible by winning their fifth Indian Premier League championship under the inspirational leadership of Rohit Sharma.

The Mumbai Indians previously won the league championship in 2013, 2015, 2017, and 2019. Additionally, by bringing home the cup for the fifth time, the team broke a four-year pattern of losing every other year.

IPL 2020 was won by five wickets by the team against the young and aspirational Delhi Capitals. Prior to the start of the season, the defending champs were considered the favorites.

Among the superstars on this team were Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, and Kieron Pollard. With nine wins out of their 14 league matches, Mumbai lived up to their reputation during the league stage.

During the first semi-final match, Rohit’s team defeated Delhi Capitals by 57 runs. IPL champion MI’s illustrious run was capped by a superb performance against the same opposition in the finals

Match SummaryDelhi Capitals IPL team review

In the final of the IPL 2020 at Dubai International Stadium, the Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets to extend their record to five IPL titles. With the Mumbai Indians chasing 157 for victory, Rohit Sharma scored 68 runs from 51 balls to lead them to a victory.

Delhi Capitals openers were sent back early by Trent Boult, whose first ball of the match sent Marcus Stoinis back to the pavilion. At 22/3, Shikhar Dhawan was playing at his peak as DC stared death in the eye. 

Rishabh Pant and captain Shreyas Iyer, meanwhile, started to rebuild the team after the loss. As DC reached 118, Rishabh Pant passed his 50th IPL century. Delhi Capitals, however, are well poised to accelerate in the final overs thanks to the 96-run partnership.

The half-century came in just 40 balls and included a boundary as Shreyas Iyer looked to find the big shot. While MI’s death bowlers conceded just 20 runs and picked up three wickets in the last three overs, the late flourish failed to materialize.

In the first over, both openers for MI, Rohit Sharma, and Quinton de Kock, seemed eager to put the game away. In his first over of the match for DC, Kagiso Rabada took 18 runs off Mumbai Indians’ star bowler. Mumbai Indians raced to 45 points after four overs.

Suryakumar Yadav cricket player

Stoinis’ fifth over sent De Kock back, giving DC a much-needed breakthrough. Suryakumar Yadav, who entered in the form, was able to take advantage of the South African’s departure little to hamper runs.

The two appeared to be enjoying themselves, performing well above the required pace. The mix-up with Rohit Sharma resulted in Suryakumar Yadav being run out for MI on 90. 

Nevertheless, Mumbai Indians captain Virat Kohli continued undeterred and finished with fifty, putting his team comfortably in the lead by the time he left the field. With eight balls left and five wickets in hand, Mumbai Indians were able to cross the finish line thanks to Ishan Kishan and Krunal Pandya.